20160717 - WIA Contest Champion

posted Jul 16, 2016, 6:05 PM by News Team
Contesting - Image: dxcoffee.com
Contesting - Image: dxcoffee.com
The WIA Contest Champion VK4PJ Peter Brown Trophy is awarded annually for the best combined effort in WIA Sponsored Contests.

To qualify for the trophy, you must be a member of the WIA and submit a log to at least 3 of the qualifying contests. 

This is how the points are awarded

Points for the contest are awarded on the following scale 
  • First place in section 100 Points 
  • Second place 80 points 
  • Third place 60 points 
  • Fourth place 40 points 
  • Fifth place 20 points 

You can only claim one score per contest. eg. If you entered 2M SSB and you were also the overall winner only one of the section wins count not both. 

For operation as a member of a multi operator station scores are 0.6 of normal eg member of 1st place multi op maximum points are 60 points. 

NB Operators of Multi ops callsigns MUST be submitted with the log or no points can be allocated. 

If you change callsign during the calendar year the most recent callsign will be used and it is your responsibility to notify the contest committee of the change. 

In the event of a tie the title is shared. 

The score is taken from the best performance in each category in a contest and there are 7 different W.I.A. contests. 

Qualifying Contests for the Contest Champion are:

  • Ross Hull Contest 
  • John Moyle National Field Day 
  • Harry Angel 
  • Remembrance Day Contest 
  • Oceania DX Phone 
  • Oceania DX CW 
  • VHF/UHF Field Days * (Best Score from one only)

Something I noticed while researching this, is that the person with the leading score at the moment has scored points in only two contests, and what this says to me is that you don’t have to enter and gain a place in a lot of contests.   It does mean, however, that you need to do well in some.

You don’t have to do anything special to be a contender, apart from being a WIA member, and doing well in some Aussie contests.  Have a go.